Lost Time

I am awake.

There is no purpose,
Nothing that requires my attention.
My eyelids remain only half shut.
They know not to interrupt me.

I am awake.

It is not that I don’t want sleep,
Because I do yearn for it
As my muscles ache
And plead for the comfort of my pillows;
The warmth of my blankets.

I am awake.

I’m awake because so much of my time
Is robbed from me
And this is how I take it back.
The clutches of rest will not grab me.
I remain defiant,
Even as dawn approaches.

I am awake.
This time is mine.

 

Jack Mason, 2017
Leave a Reply

